A Day In The Life

By Irish59

The First

There’s an old saying that I haven’t heard in years but it came to mind when faced with how to describe what I’m feeling right now after seeing my first monarch of the summer • “I’m so happy I can’t see straight!” • I don’t know the origin but it’s a phrase I heard often as a kid • I search milkweed daily for caterpillars, I scan the butterfly bed throughout the day searching for a monarch, just one, and always feel sad and disappointed when I don’t see any • That is until today!!! Yippee! • I noticed her from the window, then stepped out onto the deck to confirm my sighting. Of course I dashed back into the house to announce her arrival to MrsP, then grabbed my camera • She flew around erratically all around the backyard and occasionally flittered and fluttered amongst the milkweed; the monarch, not MrsP. Finally landing on one to deposit eggs I snapped off a few shots from the deck before she left. I waited for almost an hour hoping she’d return but then I gave up. Hopefully I will get better photos tomorrow :) • What a wonderful start to the week!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.