DarkFlameboy

By DarkFlameboy

Against the swarm

After a day of absolutely gorgeous sunshine, dullness has won this morning, leaving the working population of Glasgow with a burnt glow. Where there's no light, however, is in everyone's clothing. We are still in our blacks, our greys, our browns, our dark and muted greens and reds. We have finally hit summer but, and I've never noticed this before, are we still dressing for a long winter?

I feel like I've noticed it more today because of this jumper I'm wearing. Originally bought for my partner's "Ugly Christmas Jumper Party", its whites and yellows and blues and oranges should make it hideous. And it is: hideous. I started off hating it, but as time has gone on its gotten so many compliments that I'm starting to warm to it.

It wasn't until I was walking down the platform at Queen St station, my train having come in, clearing hundreds of commuters, that I really felt uncomfortable. Walking upstream, against the tide of grey and black, this odd, little, animal discomfort whimpered from underneath this hideous jumper. I felt like I should be walking in their direction, following the swarm.

What the heck is up with that?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.