Today's Special

By Connections

Morning Meandering

I didn't meander far, just to the front porch, where I enjoyed photographing the bees on the prodigious lavender in the garden. The backlighting on this bee's hind leg fascinated me, so I did an online search to find out more about bee legs. 

Arizona State University has a marvelous ""Bee Bonanza"  website, where I learned that a bee's hind legs "have a unique set of tools used to collect and carry pollen called the press, brush, and auricle." The website also has helpful illustrations of the outside and inside of a honey bee, and much more -- I highly recommend it!

The extra shows a bee resting on the porch railing, with the tiniest insect I've ever seen nonchalantly walking underneath it!

Blip 2252

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.