Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Tilley Tales

Apparently I am a member of a secret society I was totally unaware of!  I've had my hat for several years without attracting any interest or comment,  yet in recent weeks three people have asked me about my Tilley, all proud owners themselves.  An elderly chap in the park who had warned Euan about not getting on the hot slide (it had heated up in the sunshine) asked me if I knew the story about the Tilley which was eaten by the elephant, ejected, washed and used again for several years.  I knew this because it is on a leaflet which is concealed in my Tilley's secret pocket!  Last week, the chap behind the counter in Salt's Mill asked me if I had a medallion with my Tilley (which he had).  Perhaps the medallion replaced the secret pocket in later versions??  A queue was forming but it felt like we were engaged in a conversation to the exclusion of others!  Then this weekend an orienteer proudly told me he was the owner of a Tilley and weren't they great hats?  And there I was thinking I had developed this irresistible magnetism to the opposite sex, when it was my hat they were interested in!

I picked the blackcurrants in the allotment until the rain began, nearly three pounds' worth in all, and then continued putting the house back until it was time to meet the Hobblers for a walk around St Ives, which was most enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.