Lsquare

By Lsquare

The Heron Rule Applies To Juveniles, Too!

I was out early this morning looking for tiny visitors on what wildflowers I could find---and I did find some and I found Damselflies that have tiny intricate parts.  And then it happened!  At almost the far end of my walk, I heard a bird call and I knew that it could be a bird that would change my blip---if I could find it.  I stood there looking up into the trees every time I heard the call, but I could not spot the source.  I was turning to walk away when I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye.  The bird had moved a tiny bit, but it was enough for me to see and it also explained why I had such trouble spotting what I believe is a juvenile Green Heron.  It was basically the same color as the tree branch it was clinging to and the tree is so damaged that the bird shape did not stand out.  It was easy for it to blend in and look kind of like just another broken part of the tree.  I have put another view of the bird and a collage of my tiny choices as a nod to Tiny Tuesday in the extras.  Thanks to KangaZu for hosting.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.