CrocusMan

By TonyG

Achimenes Lionheart 'A'

On a relentlessly wet day nothing I saw had me thinking Blip until I was reminded that I needed a pic.   Growing far too many (house)plants, there's always something somewhere and at this time of year the Hot Water Plants and their relatives provide both colour and interest.  This achimenes hybrid is unusual for the all over pattern on it's petals.  Usually it is only around the centre of the flower that spotting and speckling occurs.  It is clone 'A' from a batch of seedlings raised by an enthusiast, all prefixed Lionheart.  The others are also speckled but none as strikingly as this one.

A slow start after another unsettled night.  I did some more work towards repotting the bulb collection so was out in the greenhouse for a fair bit of the day.  I'm so lucky to have it, on days like this the only alternative is bringing things indoors which is less than ideal.   I took Meg out when the rain stopped ... another shower blew in while we were down on the prom.   Cooked a cheese scone based, mushroom pizza for tea.  Singing went well again but I'm tired tonight.  Definitely an early night ahead.

Edit.  So much for an early night.  Very poorly overnight :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.