Tréguier

Another lovely sunny day. Alice had school of course, and I had my Skype language-exchange meeting after studying.

After lunch, I drove to Lannion via a different route, through Pontrieux. I don't know why I've never taken that route to my lesson before. It turned out to be shorter, but not quite so scenic.

It was just three of us at the lesson again today, and we tackled the subjunctive. Ugh. I also learned some history which explains why locals aren't always very enamoured of the British, although they only ever seem to refer to "les anglais". Major towns such as Brest, Lorient and Saint Malo were all completely destroyed by allied bombardements during the second world war, resulting in tens of thousands of French deaths. I felt a bit uncomfortable as it was discussed.

I drove back the normal way, and stopped off to take this photo looking across the River Jaudy to the bridge at Tréguier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.