Orchid99

By orchid99

The Big Butterfly Count

There was a bit of sunshine forecast so I went over to Middleton Hall and Gardens.

I try to visit the same places each year and report the sightings. Not pure science, but just interesting for me to compare.

Until the sun came out and warmed up their wings, I didn’t see much, but in the walled garden, I was approached by lots of Red Admirals. Several fluttered round quite close and there were at least ten of them (by the buddleia of course). 

I spotted a Comma and as I looked closely, I noticed that there were several more. 

My count included a number of Large and Small Whites, a couple of Meadow Browns and a Common blue. 

Still no peacocks or Small Tortoiseshells. And no Painted Ladies.

Walking round the lake, I saw two rather gangly adolescent cygnets sunbathing on last year’s nest - and mother swan peacefully sitting on a nest in a safer spot. 

A peaceful place (but too much strimming , wind, and noise from the main road for Merlin to give readings.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.