Neil

By Ubik

Self Portrait

A self portrait today, taken for a small photo collage project my family is putting together for my very elderly grandmother, who's going into a care home from next week.

The plan is for everyone in the family to send a photo of themselves to be put in a collage that my Gran can have in her room at the care home.

It's been a difficult process for everyone, in different ways, as my Gran has lived in her house for decades and as such it's got a lot of family history in it's walls and has seen 3 generations of our family either live or frequently visit it and has been host to many special events including my younger sisters wedding in 2020. 

Thankfully it's still owned by my Aunt and Uncle who purchased it from my Gran a number of years ago to take some of the strain off her caring for it in her advanced age, so it's not like it's going to be out of our lives forever, but it's still a big change to what has been a constant for all of us. In the long run however, it's a change that I believe will benefit my Gran greatly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.