Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Cat’s whiskers

Patrick shows the green flag to the driver of the DMMU as it powers up the bank to Tenterden over the Cranbrook Road level crossing on an empty coaching stock refuelling run from Rolvenden.

I was on my way to my turn at Wittersham Road signalbox when I was held up at the crossing gates giving me time to get out of the car and bag the shot.

The cat’s whisker refers to the iconic yellow lining in the shape, ahem, of a cat’s whiskers.

My turn at Wittersham was not without problems. Degraded signalling and crossing gate equipment at Northiam caused some extra work as did people working on painting signal posts that I needed to work.

All much needed work and we came to an understanding in communication to enable me to work the signal without compromising the safety of the painters.

In the end, we got through the timetable more or less on time and there were plenty of people on the trains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.