Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Hooded Crow #51 Torshavn, Faroe Islands

Backblip 

Our first port of call and it was an eventful one, despite the fact that we hadn't anything planned. 
We had a lovely walk out from the harbour to the beach on the far side of town. It wasn't beach weather in my opinion, but the locals were out in force there with some even in the water. We just sat on the rocks watching the Arctic terns and Eider ducks. 
After it got a bit warm, we headed back to the ship. There was a lot of chatter in the bar later that afternoon and apparently the Faorese had conducted a whale hunt at the very beach we had been at, in full view of the ship full of tourists. 
Thankfully we did not witness this as it happened after we left, but we read about it later and found that 78 whales had been driven on to the beach and then slaughtered. The images we saw online were quite graphic. 
Had I known about this annual practice I don't think I would have chosen to visit the Faroe Islands. 

I've put a few images(obviously not of the hunt) in extras as a reminder of our day. The hooded crow was happily just sitting on the top of a boat in the harbour. Not a bird I've seen in the UK before I don't think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.