Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Walking on Madrisa Mountain

A friend contacted me this morning to see if he could join us for a walk as his wife was busy working today, so when Gavin was finished with his morning work calls, we went off to meet him at the gondola lift to go up Madrisa. From there it is a further incline up the mountain which gives lovely views over the valley and village, before descending down again. My knees felt the descent today! It was quite steep in parts coming down and hiking poles were needed. We stopped off at Berghaus Erika for a light lunch - all three of us had smoked salmon salads - before continuing our descent back to the car park at the bottom of the mountain.

It was another hot day. On my walk down I was so excited to see a swallowtail butterfly as we don't see them in our part of England, but I missed getting a photo of it as it flew off as I was focusing. I did get a photo of a Black Veined White (see extra) which I don't think we see that easily in the UK, I read they are extinct there? We stopped off at the supermarket to get a few fresh veggies and salad things for supper, and then could not resist having an iced coffee at the cafe next door - just coffee, ice and coconut milk (as in the vegan milk not the cooking milk added to curries), it was delicious!

When we got home there were two tiny birds in the apartment. There are house martins nesting under the eaves and as our apartment is at the top of the chalet house they must have flown in the window which is right next to the eaves. We managed to get them out again.

Look at the size of the bell in my extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.