Cailleach

By Cailleach

Ma cherie, a moor......

'Yoohoo, Mrs Duck! I say, do you realise you've got a moorchick on your tail?'

'Moorchick? You just made that word up. But if you're trying to tell me I have a wee moorhen in tow, then yes, I'm well aware. He's my baby!'

'Your baby? That's not right....you can't possibly have laid a moorhen!'

'What I do in my private life, is my entirely my own business! Anyway, it was only once, and I'd been on the pondweed at the time.....'

'Noooooo. I mean, you can't possibly have laid a moorhen egg!'

'Aaah, I see. Well, I didn't actually incubate him, that's true. But I've adopted him.'

'Is that legal?'

'You're very stupid, aren't you.....legals are great big birds; huge wingspans, nasty beaks. I'm very happy with my tiny baby thank you very much. He's musical, he's cute and he's very funny.'

'No, I said....oh forget it, it doesn't matter. So, does he have a name, your, ummm, adopted son?'

'Of course he does. He's called Dudley. Dudley Moorhen.....'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.