While on my runs

By waipushrink

Running the dog

Getting home after work today was made difficult by lots of traffic blocking the road I was intending to use. In the process of finding a different route, I realised that much of the traffic was to do with the opening game of the womens football world cup. Then I heard about the shooting in downtown central Auckland. Sad and so unnecessary.

Later in the drive, on the National Radio programme, I heard a young man who had been in care as a teenager talking about how he was treated. He now works supporting young offenders. He was on the programme because he has a driving need to oppose the plans of the National Party to build a Youth Prison. He told those of us who were listening that when he was in the 'Boys Home' not only was he ill-treated, but the boys were intent on one-upping each other in terms of degree of badness.

Hardly the sort of thing that would help them to not continue offending. 

I got home in the early twilight, and took my camera to the entry to our property and was fortuitously able to record someone else while on her run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.