Stiffknees

By Stiffknees

One wedding and a funeral!

These are some of the beautiful flowers which will adorn Northleach church tomorrow for a wedding.  Today the choir sang at a funeral for someone in our village who was and who has always been quite a character.  I've never seen the church so full and there wasn't an inch of parking space in the town.

The wake was held on Farmington village green so Mr Sk and I came home and wandered along, accompanied by Ivy and Perdie who is staying the night with us.  We had seen Hugh Grant come into the church and he and his partner sat quite near the choir.  At the wake I was chatting with our neighbours by the entrance to the marquee and wondering whether she'd seen Hugh Grant in church and as I said that, he wandered into the marquee looking a bit lost and not wanting to draw attention to himself.  As I was right there I started talking to him and explaining that the wine and soft drinks were on one side of the marquee and that tea and coffee were on the other side. He thanked me and also wondered if there were any sandwiches and so I told him I'd seen some on one of the tables.  He smiled and said if he found them, he'd bring me one.  Of course, my neighbour and I were ridiculously excited by this exchange when just a minute later, he duly returned with two sandwiches on a plate especially for me and flashed me another smile!  I didn't quite swoon but I dined out on the story at choir practice just now and the title for my blip will now make sense!

Many thanks Anni/BikerBear for hosting Flower Fridays for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.