iaint

By iaint

A Win

I was at my dentist in Dunfermline this morning for a 6 monthly check up. I had no reason to be concerned, but one never knows...

It turned out well. Not only did my teeth get the thumbs up, but one of my gums is actually in better shape than before. 

£44 well spent. 

I had planned a raid on the Polish deli nearby, but their card machine was out of action and I had no cash with me. Fortunately I will be back in Dunfermline next week to see the hygienist. 

Then I meandered along to the Abbot House taking advantage of the pleasant sunshine and hoping for a Blip. It worked. 

The Blip is a plaque about Sir William Wallace's mother being buried nearby. I knew King Robert I's body (minus the heart) lies in the Abbey but not about the Wallace connection. 

My first Extra is the rear of the 16th century House, and the coffee shop really tempted me. Maybe next week. 

The other Extra is the front door of the House. The inscription reads 

Sen vord is thrall and thocht is free, Keep veill thye tonge, I counsel the.

I believe it is a warning about the evils of gossip, and roughly translates as 

Words are exciting and thoughts are free, but I advise you to keep your tongue still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.