Shutterup

By Shutterup

A very British Summer

It seems I have planted up my summer pots with red white and blue.. very British!  They are at their prime just now but the snapdragons won't last too long I suspect. The bees are all over them which is lovely to watch as they push their way inside where they are snapped up for a while until they reverse out covered in dusty pollen that lands on the outer petals.  Love watching them.
I have been mystified today by the two girls who came to work in the garden. I asked them (rather belatedly probably) to plant my dahlia.. it is a good time to do so as the full flush of growth is now being cut back in the borders and there is a little room while they recover. there were five to plant and I can only find 4.. I simply cannot find it anywhere.. there is a broken pot in the bin.. and 4 empty ones left together so I assume it is in the garden somewhere but I have no idea where.. I have employed two more eyes but they cant see it anywhere either!  No answers on text from them.. so it is a mystery for now!
In the extra is an acorn that pushed its way backwards out of my herb planter.. there is no sign of any top.. very odd just massive roots as you can see.. Usually I pot up the acorns in the spring when they emerge and give them to people to plant for themselves.. I love sharing my oak tree c/o the squirrels hard work!
I am glad it is the weekend but the forecast is a little bleak.. we will see a very british summer indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.