Living my dream

By Mima

Fish-wish

Thank you for all the supportive comments, stars and hearts about brother #3 yesterday. This is the most wonderful community.

An End of Life care plan has been put in place for him - although I am confused that he is being given antibiotics for pneumonia and a UTI. He also has kidney failure, which isn't being treated as far as I can work out, other than with IV fluids to increase his hydration. He is in and out of consciousness. I hope he drifts away peacefully. 

The day started cold. We had -3C frost overnight, followed by pre-dawn rain, so the place was like an ice-rink. Fortunately I saw Bean slip-sliding on the deck before I reached it, so I was extra-cautious. And I survived. So did Bean incidentally. 

Following this morning's skype with brother #2 we repaired to the potbelly-warmed study, where I've been catching up with emails, doing a few admin tasks and reading for most of the day.

I have just discovered Peter Robinson's DCI Banks novels. To my delight he has written oodles and the library has most of them. He turns out to be another detective crime writer who I like - along the lines of Elly Griffiths, Ann Cleeves, Susan Hill, James Oswald, Elizabeth George.

The fish is from Orkney: a glass artisan who lived on Shapinsay years ago. It hangs on my reference bookshelf and is one of the many reminders Chez Mima of those islands and their importance to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.