Joan’s blips

By Keepingitsimple

A very special day

Today has led me to needing to take a photo of a photo. This photo was taken 66 years ago. I was seven and it was the day of my first Communion. I knew this was a very special event. I was the last of four siblings to make my First Communion.

It did not bother me that my gloves were clearly too big. I don’t think my seven year old fingers were as long as those in the photo. I remember my mother had to adjust the tear around the thumb so it wouldn’t show in the photo. None of these things could spoil the day BUT … something almost did.

You had to fast before Communion. My mother made ice cream and it had just been put in the fridge. I can still remember opening the ice chest (not a freezer back then) and dipping my finger in the newly made ice cream and licking it off my finger and then I froze with panic. I had broken my fast and it was my Communion Day. My seven year old self knew that I could not go ahead and make my First Communion that day. I told my mother and she had the wisdom to say the words I no longer remember but it made it all fine and the day went ahead. I don’t think I was thinking of the ice cream as I posed for the photo.

I do remember other things about the day but not as prominently as those mentioned. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.