Life of Riley

By jenceng

Looking Death in the Face

I heard a load of commotion and knew instantly that it was going to be the Sparrowhawk. As hard as it is when I love feeding the little starling babies, I had to let this beautiful beast get it's food too. Large Sparrowhawk.

This Starling was alive when I took this. We have taken down the fat slab which the starlings love as they make so much noise when they are eating it, hopefully that will help prevent any more baby starling deaths in the garden.

Edit: I can't believe my shot from 1 year ago was the same!

The baby wagtails have been moved on by their parents, after all our garden is their patch. This morning I saw Mr Waggy parade in front of Mrs Waggy then we witnessed what could be the start of a second brood! Their little mating dance was amazing to see, so lucky!

My 'other' blip for the day was the Lakey Moth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.