LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Stromness Shopping Week Finale

This was the last day of Stromness Shopping week and it’s been action packed. We were lucky with the weather for the Harbour Swim. There was no wind and the sea was calm. I was very much outside my comfort zone but was happy to finish without being fished out of the water by a rescue boat. 

One of the Selkies, newly returned from holiday lured me to the pub this afternoon  and we sat outside in the sun with our wine before finishing things off with an ice cream.

There was a large procession of decorated floats winding its way through the streets this evening with much enthusiasm from the onlookers. The normally douce  proprietor of the Cheek Monkey Taxi Service was greatly taken,as you can see from my blip, with a rather beautiful maiden from one of the floats and puckered up brazenly in front of the present Mrs Creel and myself.

There are things going on as I type at the pier head but I am opting out . It seems that I will be able to watch the firework display later tonight from my bed- that’s if I haven’t fallen asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.