No one is looking at this

By Limey

Onto the next stepping stone

Strictly speaking, my last day was Friday but I was still on jury duty.

I came in today to return my equipment and say bye to whoever was around.

Grateful to them for giving me the opportunity to get out of an industry I grew to loathe for its penny-pinching and meat-grinding treatment of it's  staff & vendors. 

At the same time, I always knew I wouldn't be here forever. I liked the roles I had here, but I hated the location on the other side of Dublin. 

this site is mostly anti-social engineers who have been there 15-30 years and who are quite frankly too institutionalised now to go anywhere else. I think my departure brings the diversity figures down a few % for the overall/management male-female ratio!! :) 

I will miss my German colleagues a lot though, they were cool. I was generally well-treated here, in fairness, I can't complain. I was promoted twice in the 4 years I was there, and they gave me a €150 voucher today as a leaving present. :) Really was not expecting that! 
New job doesn't start til August so I've got the rest of July off. Yaaaay :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.