KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Productive Day

I thought about a walk this morning and decided to start working on my breezeway garden instead. I may have explained the unusual layout of my townhouse before. The garages (two one-car) face the driveway and common lawn/pool courtyard (as does every garage on the north and east sides of the community). There's a gate in between the garages and a pathway, bordered by garden beds, goes straight through to the courtyard in front of my house. So my courtyard is bordered by the back walls of the garages and the front of the townhouse, with tall fences at either end (thus creating the courtyard). I've been working on my courtyard garden since early spring. Now it's time for the breezeway garden. Strange light - some direct sun shines in for a short while in the afternoon but just at the entrance. There's skylights so some light comes in from them. But no water - it's all covered by a roof. A challenge, so to speak. But I've been buying shady plants - two evergreen jasmine that will wind their way around the front opening, a Fatsia, Hardy Fuchsia, Ferns, Hostas, Brunnera and a couple of big Coleus to brighten things up. I planted everything I'd bought to date, then went out this afternoon and got some more ;-) When it's a bit further along I'll post a blip. Fun to tackle!

Meanwhile, my dill is in full bloom in the courtyard and I managed to catch a bee enjoying a late afternoon visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.