Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Saturday: Jungalows

I’m backblipping as we’ve been out of wifi range for the last 24 hours.  We’ve had an overnighter at a ‘Jungalow’ Lodge, just 40 minutes down the Hummingbird Highway.  

It was beautiful, very serene, and the views were just stunning.  

It was also hilarious.  The owner, a gay guy from Chicago, was drunk as a skunk when we arrived at 2pm.  On arrival, we found ourselves enveloped in multiple bear hugs, accompanied by big sloppy kisses.  And for the rest of the day he kept popping up at five minute intervals to declare ‘I love you guys’, ‘You’re like family to me’ and ‘Please, I want you to REALLY lean in’. At one point he virtually pushed me off my sunbed so he could make himself comfortable.  The declarations of love on the sunbed were accompanied by much thigh patting.  

And no, we hadn’t met him before today.  He was also very insistent that we should ask the staff for anything and ‘I mean ANYTHING’ (accompanied by a suspect little wink).  We’re still trying to figure out what ‘anything’ might be. K. tried by asking for world peace, but that didn’t go very far so we tried climate change next.  

They don’t have a restaurant as such but do provide meals of whatever they feel like cooking.  It was actually excellent - a nice three course dinner with wine, cooked by the much more sober chef (who actually had to rescue us from the owner so we could eat as he had me pinned on the sofa at this point whilst declaring us to be his new family).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.