out of my fields

Afflicted as I am by Lutton Gowts I have not yet helped Nicky and her employment-colleague Veronica with their allotment, though the utter lack of shade and the presence of Veronica's HMV-type dog are added reasons to not hang around there too long. I did remotely advise on their shed-building though couldn't help as it was constructed over the weekend when I had to remove kitchen cupboards, pack things into boxes and move boxes of things between rooms in preparation for the plastering-man. The mere fact that I cannot identify any but the most obvious plants and do not know which are weeds and which are carefully-planted vegetables on the more free-form areas of growth means that I would need supervision if doing anything other than simple digging-over which I think they've mostly now done, possibly with the exception of the bit at the end occupied by some bits of wood and an old exam-desk. If I'd known they'd recently installed their compost bin but not yet filled it with anything I'd have perhaps brought my ukulele down to film a segment of my video for Project Rudi sitting in it.

After a nice wander back along the shady river with surprisingly few dog-based annoyances on the way I popped into an office to switch on a colleague's workstation so that his schedules would run in the morning (which would have saved valuable minutes if I'd remembered that for some reason his login doesn't automatically sign into the telephony servers, as does mine) and stick my freshly-washed trousers in my locker. I'd hoped that wandering back through the Meadows Festival would provide the opportunity to get a nice pasty from a pasty-vending van or trailer but the vicious buggers weren't there. Hopefully they'll be at TreeFest though that's over a month distant and I was quite looking forward to a nice greasy pasty before attempting to film something using the limited moving-picture capture capabilities of a portable telephone and the limited backgrounds available indoors as I'd demand the presence of a wife/assistant if recording anything outside, both to operate the makeshift camera and lend an air of respectability to an otherwise suspicious-looking activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.