OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Eagle feather

I went over to Hoy to try and see the two juvenile white-tailed sea eagles that have been there a while. The little bus dropped me at the path to the Dwarfie Stane and I was soon standing by the stone which is a rock-cut Neolithic tomb. Almost immediately I saw both birds above me- my first white-tailed sea eagles. After some time I walked across the moor to the Trowie Glen. The name comes from trows or trolls, the Norse supernatural beings. I didn't see any. Up on the top of the hill there were quite a few mountain hares, but I just couldn't get a decent shot. Other shots here.I passed several pools and this feather was on a little island in one pool. I took my boots and socks off and waded for it. I am pretty sure it is an eagle feather.
This bird has yellow eyes and is known in Gaelic as 'iolaire suil na greinne', 'eagle with the sunlit eye'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.