Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Beaver

I was down to the river very early this morning and watched the skunk foraging (I wonder what they eat?) for quite a long time . . . so long that Kiki started whining to get me walking again. Other wildlife seen along the way: five more beavers, ducks, rabbits, mule deer bucks, hawk, and a butterfly (monarch?). There was a good breeze which kept things cool but later in the day the temperature reached 90ºF (32.2ºC) yet again. The rain keeps teasing us was sporadic drops hardly enough to moisten the road never mind quench the dry earth. 

       The elk that have been hanging about in a pasture by the river near us have moved on. They crossed School Bus Road in front of me yesterday as I was on my way to the post office. I just made it as the post master was coming out of his office to lock the door promptly at 11:00.

       D., of litter and lost items picking fame, came across a gruesome sight. She could smell it before she found it. A beautiful mountain lion (known as puma or cougar in other parts) had obviously been hit by a vehicle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.