KJMurray

By KJMurray

Niche Hobby

I've always had a passion for American Football. Ever since the Claymores handed out free tickets back when the thought of ever attending a Celtic game was but a dream to my underprivileged young self.

I've struggled to find much in the way of a Scottish scene since the Claymores got disbanded. However, recently I've found The Edinburgh Wolves.

Choosing a new sports team is always difficult. Escaping from that box, where, the sports teams you support are chosen for you and in many cases your flag is nailed upon the mast before you are born is exhilarating.

I could have went with the closest to my home town, The Glasgow Tigers or the team that seem to be doing very well, The East Kilbride Pirates. Instead, I looked for a local team to my new home, who needed some aid by way of my skillset and I thought, fuck it.

I dipped my toe in the water and decided to volunteer my services. Will I take the plunge in the future and decide to attend a training session or try out(despite my small size/build)? Who knows but for now - I'm glad to have a new hobby and an affordable sport to follow.

Only £3 for an adult with free Krispy Kreme donuts, decent price Papa Johns pizza slices and £1 child entry to Home games at Meadowbank Stadium. What a bargain eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.