Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Wildfire and severe thunderstorm

All in one day. I got a phone call midday from husband get in the truck head to West Side of the ranch and pick me up my truck is high sided on a tree stump and there's a wildfire in corner section. I raced off to pick him up. When we got there the ranch driver had a loader in clearing the stuff on fire on the ground putting most of it out. The tree must have been hit by lightning the night before and smoldered until it went up. We then doused the rest of the area with the ranch fire truck. So glad we saw it early, it was accessible and we put it out quick. After I helped husband recover his truck.

In the afternoon whilst feeding the horses a large thunderstorm was incoming. My lightning app was going off and we also got the severe thunderstorm watch for it as a storm producing large hail. Anyway we had one last job to do I had to change battery on electric fence and open a gate and husband had to push the cattle out to where I was doing that. Anyway as I'm changing the battery I notice some hail starting then it just instantly went torrential rain. I quickly finished the fence opened the gate and headed back to the yard. The dogs were in our truck and quite rightly freaking out as hail and heavy rain were battering it. I drove it into the workshop so it was quieter for them. Once it settled we headed home... As I got closer I noticed hail lining the track side as I got home I could see that we had had a lot of hail. I looked around the garden and everything is damaged and stripped by some large hail. Nothing I can do but so sad and disappointing. It may recover but will be very late I think. On the plus side we got 1/2inch of much needed rain.

“Storms don’t come to teach us painful lessons, rather they were meant to wash us clean.” – Shannon L. Alder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.