Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Up Close

It has been several years since we've had this many hummingbirds in our garden.  This bird is a young female who appears to have lost some feathers on her throat, probably in a scuffle with another hummingbird.  She has staked out one particular feeder and is protecting it with lots of vigor - in this image, she was fluffed up with tail fanned in a classic aggressive posture.  Because there are probably between 8-12 hummers here right now, there are epic chases and lots of angry chatter as each vies for the prime nectar sources.  Inevitably, they get so amped up that they end up chasing other species of birds, even though the other birds represent no danger to them.  Today, two hummers went after a hapless house finch fledgling and then turned their attention to a titmouse youngster.  Both larger birds wisely retreated into the woods at full speed.  These are the kinds of interactions that make me smile, much needed at the moment.

My husband is taking the next two weeks away from work - he needs the time to just breathe.  And of course, there are all the things that need to be done when someone passes.  

I was smiling today thinking of when Hubs and I got engaged.  I was on mission to find the perfect wedding dress and invited Virginia to go dress shopping with me one Saturday.  I had a tattoo on my shoulder that she'd never seen and I was a little nervous about how she'd react to it - but she took it in stride.  At the third dress shop we visited, we were both getting a little giddy and before I knew it, we had some big monstrosity of a dress hauled off to the dressing room.  By the time I managed to get the thing on, we had both dissolved into gales of hilarity - it was one of the most truly garish, hideous dresses I've ever seen.  That was our last stop of the day before we headed out for a leisurely lunch.  I didn't find "the" dress that day, but I certainly had lots of laughs.  

I indulged in some dark chocolate with dried cherries and almonds today - very delicious.  

One more hummer shot in Extra - if you look closely you can see little specks of pollen on her head

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.