JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Oregano corner

This was the oregano corner of my balcony, just before I clipped most of and put it in the dehydrator. It should re-grow reasonably quickly for a second harvest, and I've left a bit in case we want any to use fresh. I picked and dried the first batch of basil yesterday.

P returned from his morning walk with horrible news: the large poultry farm on a hillside just outside the village, which I sometimes walk past or photograph across the valley, where the llamas also live, has been affected by avian flu. The lane past it was closed and all 4,000 birds, chickens, ducks, geese etc, were being culled. I felt sick thinking of it. I was not enthusiastic about this large farm when it was set up a few years ago, but they are free range birds living in spacious enclosures and seem well looked after. The many small flocks and pet chickens kept by lots of people we know around the area must now be kept indoors and monitored - there will be no more local eggs for us for a while - and I think we have to assume the infection at the farm was acquired from wild birds. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.