La vida de Annie

By Annie

Té repugnante.

Just after the visitors left, I discovered I'd run out of Yorkshire tea. I thought I had spares in the cupboard but the brain let me down again, confusing the memory of there being some there with taking them out and using them up. This may not seem a big issue, but to an expat British immigrant this is indeed huge - no proper tea! I thought English Breakfast Tea was probably a reasonable stop gap until I could expensively import some of the real stuff, but seeing the cost of Twinings 10 tea bags versus own brand 20 at half the price, of course my Tyke mentality went for the better value. Huge mistake! It tastes like cow pats disolved in hot water - totally undrinkable. I then had to do what I'd sworn never to. I bought some PG tripe from the local shop, a horrible brand composed of the tea-pickers' under-nail scrapings, but at least related to the plant in some way. It's just about drinkable if you dunk a ginger biscuit and a bit breaks off and dissolves in the cup. OH said he can't tell the difference from real YT, but he's from Essex so obviously has no discernment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.