Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Catching the light

Sunsets have been few and far between this year, and it’s over two months since I’ve posted anything related to a setting sun. Even in the now distant memories of a sweltering June, clear skies faded to nothing at sundown. And when skies showed more promise, clouds annoyingly seemed drawn together on the horizon, stopping sunset in its tracks. 

So I’m full of excited anticipation at the prospect of a decent sunset tonight. Cirrus wisps streak the sky, and though there’s a band of heavier cloud, it seems high enough to do no damage. 

We decide to drive around the Orme rather than head straight for West Shore - always a bit of a gamble. Will views be better from the rock, or by going here will I miss the reflections of a beach sunset? Tonight, it pays off. Stopping at the highest point, I manage to catch the sun slipping down into the haze; it’s not the most exciting sunset ever, but just as I turn back to the car, I hear - and feel - the swoop of wings as a two large gulls sweep just above my head, wheeling into the rays of the setting sun, feathers caught by the golden light. (Better large if you have time)

We drive on to West Shore where all that’s left is just a streak of red between the clouds…… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.