I am camera

By Martinski

Songs of Ray Davies

I have spent a bit of time, yesterday and today, compiling a playlist  of the songs of Ray Davies which I feel contain his best observations on the British class system. He is never analytical or dispassionate, rather he speaks warmly (on the whole) through the voices of his characters. I am strugglng to think of any other songwriter who has done this. And he has musicality in spades. This is the playlist I ended up with.
1.       Victoria
2.       A Well Respected Man
3.       Autumn Alamanac
4.       She’s got a Hat like Princess Marina
5.       The Village Green Preservation Socity
6.       Do You Remember Walter
7.       Picture Book
8.       Drivin’
9.      Shangri-la
10.   Days
11.   See My Friends
12.   Waterloo Sunset
 
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kt0IXkIVvo4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.