Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Mrs Small

Sarah was diagnosed with autism at the age of 3, and there was then a rush to get her into a special nursery class, at a school across town with a special provision. I was not looking forward to dropping my precious (and at the time, very difficult!) girl off with strangers at a school I hadn’t even known existed a few weeks earlier. I needn’t have worried. Sarah was collected (kicking and screaming) by Mrs Small, calm, kind, gentle and firm in the right proportions, professional and caring.

Mrs Small supported me as much as she did Sarah, but her incredible work with Sarah set her on the way to becoming the young woman she is today. I know that Mrs Small helped countless other families too.

Sadly Mrs Small has died, far too young.

Today we celebrated her life. Her daughter made the buttonholes from Ann’s scarves - what a lovely keepsake.

An emotional day, Sarah was keen to go to pay her respects but also to show off a small part of Mrs Small’s legacy. The photo on the left is from Sarah’s keepsake book of her last day at primary school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.