StephenF

By StephenF

Teddy Bears Picnic

Another default blip, when not much else has been going on, is the post box topper. And judging from the number of tags, there are a great msny postbox toppers in blipperland. Actually, they have been front page news literally in Chobham recently as two disappeared, presumed stolen. The story was all over the Chobham News and Mail. And the lady who crochets them resolutely knitted replacements. I think the one I photographed today is her latest creation although I was concerned to see that the other post box in the village that normally sports a topper was topless or, rather, topperless today. I don't know if there's any significance in the choice of the Teddy Bears Picnic but it is beautifully done and I have always enjoyed hearing the song played by Henry Hall and the BBC Radio Orchestra which, a quick bit of research informs me, was recorded in 1932.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.