Trisharooni

By trisharooni

The North Wing

Today I visited the new wing of the NSW Art Gallery.
I just loved the prints in the main blip, twelve photographs of (very rare) Korean moon jars, photographed by Koo Bohnchang.

The first extra is a corner of the gallery, and I can assure you there aren't many of those.
The new wing is just vast. 
There are cavernous spaces, vertiginous heights and acres of glass, and the footprint of this building is huge.
It's brash Sydney at its best and I'm not sure bigger is better.
The spaces in the old building, what is now the South Wing, are, to my mind, much more beautiful and fit for purpose.
I didn't hate it. There are many things I liked, but overall I think I'd prefer the grass that was there before.

The second extra, peeking at Tracey Moffatt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.