memento

By memento

Realm

My favorite garden center is a bit of a drive. It's huge. Plant list or no plant list, it is easy to become distracted and veer off the list. I stuck to the list and made it out of there in less than three hours. That's a record. I now am in possession of everything I need to finish the yard. Except maybe that spot by the trellis where the Japanese Hakone Grass doesn't seem to want to flourish.

The biggest challenge is turning out to be the sidewalk plantings. The relentless dumping and plowing of salt-logged snow killed off a great number of them this year. I'm giving it another try with some new contenders, chosen after a walk around the hood to see what survived in others' sidewalk gardens.

Some day, when everything is in the right place and liking where I've planted it, it is going to be so wonderful to sit back, pull the occasional weed and watch things grow. Master gardener/volunteer fireman/ex-Calvin Klein jeans model neighbor says it is a work in progress till the day the gardener dies. Hmmm. Hope he's wrong. I think there's one bone left in my body that isn't hurting and tomorrow's yard work will take care of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.