Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

In the driving seat

Always said I would drive one of these one day! *

We decided to be tourists for the day so got the steam train over to Sheringham.  We had a wander around the town before visiting the museum.  Well worth a visit, with four of the town's old lifeboats on display, together with many other interesting exhibits.  This was part of a display about the railway coming to town in 1887.

We then headed to a local cafe where we had fish, chips and mushy peas for lunch before heading back for the train home.  An enjoyable day.

* Actually, I've driven steam trains twice.  Once in my teens when I went up to a coal mine in Co. Durham with my Dad and we managed to get a footplate ride for a whole afternoon, with a few goes at the controls, and once when I was gifted a day's driving experience at the Great Central Railway back in 2003; both times great fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.