FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Ancestry

I’ve started researching my family tree again (first started it back in 2005). I’ve subscribed to a free trial on Ancestry.co.uk where I found the 1911 census for my great grandfather when he was just five years old.

My great grandfather Charley was my dad’s mum’s dad. I was lucky enough to know him until he passed away when I was 13.

I was excited to see this document was handwritten by his mother my great great grandmother Emily. I was sad to discover that Charley had a sister called Lily Ellen who was born 16 years before him but she sadly only lived for two months.

On a brighter note I was excited to see my great great grandfather David’s occupation of Thatcher on the census. My dad told me years ago that he was a thatcher which combined with the marriage register helped me to confirm it was him.

Looking forward to finding more heroes and villains among my ancestors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.