Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Standing up

What is the purpose of food, shelter, education, pets, and all that is good in our lives, if not to support us in making the world a better place for everyone? The love I feel for Bella leads me to all children. They're all ours. The purpose of being here, as well as I can understand it, is to do what we can for each other. Otherwise how could it be worth the trouble?

This is Joe Walsh, Vietnam Veteran and advocate for peace. Joe carries an oxygen supply wherever he goes because he has serious health issues, but he still demonstrates several times every week. A couple of years ago, half an hour after I met him for the first time, Joe gave me $50 to help pay for my trip to join the movement in Washington, D.C.  For years he has made his life a stand for peace. Does he change the world?

"I change myself," he says, "by standing up. And if, in doing that, I get a few other people off their couches, I'm happy."

There are wonderful reasons to get off the couch, go out into the streets, and take a stand for compassion. Occupy Portland has persevered as a leaderless group of change-agents since the camps closed down. I saw Adam, who stopped his bike and gave me a hug.

Joe and Adam both asked me, "Will you be here Wednesday, for the Turkey Solidarity rally?" I felt the excitement rising, the hope that something may yet be possible, the joy that summer is here, and maybe we'll do something together again. It felt big and wonderful and full of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.