Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

There be Dragons in the Garden...

Our temps are heading to the high 80's today with only a few wispy clouds to occasionally block the sun.  Not an ideal day for birds (or humans) but an excellent day for dragons.  While Jax snoozed on his elevated bed in the shade on the deck, I crouched under the hot sun looking for insects.  As I was peering ever closer into the mint patch, I caught motion and saw this nearly perfect male Widow Skimmer perch on a bit of tall grass nearby.  Why I love my 300 mm PF lens...it renders beautiful bokeh in addition to be lightweight and very sharp.  

Hubs worked in front of the house this morning, now that the bluebirds have fledged the nest box out there.  Jax and I did a little training, I did some exercises, and some photography.  Honestly, its really too hot out to do much more and definitely too hot to walk Jax.  

Last night our neighbor texted us to let us know Mama bear and her 4 cubs had gotten into his trash.  Same bears I saw a few weeks ago so they are obviously settled in.  As a consequence, we are being very careful when taking Jax out since he is inclined to chase things.  I love summer but I really don't enjoy living in such close proximity to bears all summer long.

I think dark with dried cherries today.  And some local watermelon.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.