A moment in time

By Skyegirl

A good visit

My cousin has Alzheimer's and her daughter has recently arranged for her to be cared for in a care home.  So today we went to visit her.  It is a bit of a trek to the other side of the city but well worth it to see her.

Once she had sorted out who we were, we had a lively exchange; I had taken some photographs with me, some from the past and some of our family at the present time, and she showed a lot of interest, although she is easily distracted.  We didn't stay for too long but I think she did enjoy it, and she really enjoyed waving to us from the window when we left, we had to wave for quite some time to satisfy her.

It is hard to know what to take for her, but her daughter said she loves wine gums, as do I, and I took some of them and some others too.  I also gave her a colouring in book and some felt tipped pens, someone said it would be a good idea and she certainly seemed very interested.  We'll see if she find them enjoyable.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.