ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Oude Molen', Colijnsplaat

'Oude' = 'Ow-duh' (with the 'ow' as in 'cow') = means 'old'.
'Colijnsplaat' = 'Ko-lines-plaat' = literally Colin's Plate.  No idea who Colin was.
This is The Old Mill in Colijnsplaat because it is the older one of the two, having been built in 1727, meaning that it will soon be 300 years old.  Hard to believe when one looks at it today.  No wrinkles or varicose veins, it looks like a young lass of twenty something.  This can only mean one thing -- it is very well maintained.

It was facing away from the road, same as all the other times I've passed it by, but today I was determined to have a closer look and see if there could be a way of shooting it from the back of the houses.  A parked motorcycle revealed a hitherto hidden path to a wide grassy area at the back, and, in fact, there were two motorcycles there, both owned by a couple of Germans who decided that the garden benches would be the perfect spot to eat their snacks.  In short, the space around the mill isn't part of the adjacent private properties.  The sun was behind it but I wasn't going to let that get in the way of a reasonable photo shoot.

The hunt took place while it was still bright and sunny, despite the constant movement of clouds both great and small.  There was much traffic going to the beaches but I knew the weather was going to change and didn't want to get stuck with all those cars returning, so I didn't linger.  In the early evening, we had dinner at IKEA.  Kitchen duties had long been done, so now I have a quiet evening with some genealogy and then I think it'll be an early night as I slept badly last night.

Thankful for the thought that ran through my head all day -- I may be a psychologically handicapped person but so the eff what?!?  I'm still managing and taking care of myself, am I not.  I've reached the here and now and that sounds like what a normal person would do.  Third Eye deserves a break, it has performed admirably.  Time to give it a rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.