IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

The cows at Felbrigg

We did a vision quest of sorts today with our friend Natasha. Last year we did quests on each of the eight main Celtic festivals, this year we have celebrated the quarter days in between, today’s being Lughnasadh (or as near as we could get to it).
I went for a mindful wander through the Felbrigg estate in my barefoot shoes but found that it was so busy in the area around the big house that I snuck off to a quiet corner of the park and sat on a large pile of tree trunks to contemplate the scenery and the beauty of the season.
Everything in the garden has been going seriously wild and I have had my work cut out to keep up with it. However during my walk it occurred to me that growth has reached its peak for the year and with any luck things will start to slow down now.
I spent a while watching butterflies and saw a spectacular Red Admiral which must have very recently emerged, as its colours were so fresh and vivid.
On the way home, the cows were making their way up the valley, grazing as they went and I stopped to listening to their munching and the sounds of their breathing. I have always liked cows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.