CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Gulls paddling on the remains of the sandbank

I stood in the dull light watching the movements on the River severn as the incoming tide filled in the channels between its banks near Epney. I had an extender on the telephoto lens and was hand holding the camera, which seemed heavy in my arms.

The gulls feed on the sand banks that are revealed at low tide both in the middle of the river's course as well as at the actual banks. Here they are just about able to stand before the middle sandbanks are completely flooded. 

I'd heard a great white egret had been spotted in this vicinity and hoped to see one, but ti wasn't to be today. Instead my eyes caught the patterns in the water as a brief glimpse of brighter light emerged through the cloud cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.