Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

The Greylag Geese started arriving back on the Black Isle about a fortnight ago. Only a handful at first, but this evening there was a flock of about two hundred in this field within sight of Munlochy Bay. It's the only field nearby that's been harvested, so far. They will have bred on the West coast and Outer Isles, and will be in the area until the huge influx of other geese from much further flung Northern lands arrive in the Autumn.

Passing here again on my way back home in the gloaming, heard my first Quail for this year, calling in an adjacent field. To me they're a bird like Grasshopper Warblers (GW), in that there are a few about here every year that I hear, but I've never seen one. Heard an elusive GW singing, or giving it's distinctive reeling call, from where I took the previous evening's Blip.

Testing a brand new lens that I may use as my main walkabout and Blipping lens, either on this camera, or the smaller Z50. A lens type I'd normally avoid, a "superzoom" type with just over eight times range (24 to 200mm). Will see how it goes, after a poor start. There must have been muck on the electrical contacts, as there were some, er, "interesting" initial issues, that are hopefully now resolved after cleaning said contacts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.