Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Letter

It’s been a few years since I’ve seen a White Letter Hairstreak, indeed I’ve probably only had half a dozen sightings ever, so it was good to catch this one in my usual meadow. And the ragwort proving it’s usefulness to insects yet again.

I walked out along Moorside and then down to the woods encountering fifteen different butterfly species along the way, including double figures for Small Tortoiseshell, on what was the warmest day that we’ve had for a while.

Later I headed down to Valley Parade where Bradford City were hosting Middlesbrough in a pre season friendly. It proved to be an entertaining 3-3 draw. Boro had a youthful team out, but punished City with lightning quick counter attacks.  A few of City’s new players looked promising, we’ll see how they get on when the league matches start in a week or two. 

I have my first mini-break of the summer now - Thursday and Friday off for a ling weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.