Seriously?

By MerrilHope

piña colada

Yesterday's 43ºC finally broke the recent suffocating blanket of heat and in the small hours, having finally drifted off, I was woken by the sound of thunder. Further zzz proved elusive but I must have slept at some point cos I finally woke up not long before 11am to dull, overcast skies and  a mere 26ºC.  Bliss. 

Although super tired, by late afternoon I was both restless and in need of emergency supplies so walked to the bakkal for tea, coffee, cat food and beer. The essentials. Of course, I chose the wrong moment and between leaving the apartment and getting to the shop, the heavens opened, firing pellets of rain that soaked everything in seconds, including me, and yet  I didn't mind a bit getting caught in the rain,  and so of course was reminded of the song *. 

As the day subsided in to evening, at 19.40 more rain and sunshine gave us the most glorious complete rainbow over the Bosphorus which today's Blip does not do justice to as I couldn't capture the whole arc, but it was truly, a magnificent sight that persisted for a good 15-20 minutes. Ah Istanbul. 

If you have the time and inclination to click on the link here and indulge in 3'50" of nostalgia for 1980, please note the chuckle comment some wit has writ below that reads: "Back in the day you could still front a band while looking like a teacher."  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.