David J. Rose

By djrose007

There it is, GONE!!!

I had a good couple of hours riding to Hereford and back today, picking up something from Facebook Marketplace.
When I got to the address I realised I was very close to 'Saxon Hall', the former site of 'The Regiment' (22 SAS) barracks. They were moved to Credenhill, the Royal Air Force camp, a few years ago and the site was turned over to housing and the Putson Community Centre.
When the building firm were digging the footings for the houses, in the photo, they dug through the roots of a 200 year old Oak Tree, killing it!
I donated a new Oak sapling (See blipfoto entry Oak Planting | djrose007 | Blipfoto) so I took the opportunity to nip over to Saxon Hall to see how it was going.
I stood, quite bewildered, at the sight of the grassy field, the stump of the original still in the distance. Not too noticeable as it blends in with the fence a bit.
An old chap was walking towards some flower beds so I asked him what had happened to the Oak sapling, as I was expecting to find it up to about six feet now.
He told me that it had been mowed down by the contractor that they employed to mow the grass. He uses a 'sit on' mower and just ran over the oak destroying it in the process. 
I was so disappointed, and a bit aggrieved that someone could be so very stupid and careless to destroy a tree sapling but there you go, nothing I can do about it. 
The gardener chap showed me a replacement that they had obtained but they aren't going to plant it until it's quite a bit bigger. I don't blame him, it would probably go the same way as my Oak! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.